In 1951, during its early years, East China Normal University (ECNU) established the Department of Education based on a large number of preponderant disciplines from many universities in East China, especially in Shanghai, like Fudan University, Great China University, Kwang Hua University, Tatung University, University of Shanghai, St. John’s University, Aurora University and so on. It formed the pomp of masters gathering together such as Meng Xiancheng, Liu Fonian, Zhang Yaoxiang, Xiao xiaorong, Liao Shicheng, Chang Daozhi, Xiao Chengshen, Xie Xunchu, Hu Jinan, Zuo Renxia and Cao Fu, which gave ECNU’s educational discipline the dominant position in China. In October, 1980, under the advocacy and concern of Professor Liu Fonian, China’s famous educationist and former president of ECNU, ECNU took the lead in establishing the first School of Educational Science in China, and President Liu Fonian served as the first Dean.

In October, 2014, with the support of university leaders, ECNU established the Faculty of Education based on the former School of Educational Science, School of Preschool Education and Special Education, Department of Educational Administration in School of Public Administration, National Training Center for Secondary School Principals (Ministry of Education), and School of Open Learning and Education in order to further integrate the research resources of educational discipline and enhance it’s academic influence as well as social influence.

The Faculty of Education consists of 27 teaching and scientific research units. Currently, it has over 3,071 full-time students, including 534 doctoral students, 1,509 master students, 1,028 undergraduate students. The number of faculty and staff members is 437, including 274 full-time faculty members.

The Faculty of Education positively constructs the modern university system, it has set up Academic Committee, Academic Degree Evaluation Committee, Teaching Committee and Teaching Staff Construction Committee to undertake corresponding academic administration affairs and promote professorate governance.